Wild, Ultimate Cleansing Soup & Purple Dead Nettle Nutrition

Since I discovered that I could have nutrient rich, FREE and delicious food, I have become a woman possessed.

Today’s free menu consists of dandelion, clover and purple dead nettle soup!

Clover and purple dead nettle I have yet to discuss on  my blog. I have a feeling for a while you will also be on this learning curve with me as I discover what I can from the wilderness! Clover nutrition will be on my next post, today is focusing on purple dead nettles!


 

So firstly let me talk a little bit at purple dead nettles:

  • The purple dead nettle is infact  NOT related to the stinging nettle, it is in fact a member of the mint family and a relative of basil and oregano as well as thyme and lemon balm, some of my favourite herbs!

 

  • The leaves and the flowers are both edible, they can be dried or used straight away!  The leaves mat be used in salads and used to flavour soups, stews and sauces, providing vitamin C, iron and fibre, among other minerals and flavonoids.

 

  • Not only can they be eaten but also a tisane can be made with the flowering tops of the herb, with 2 tablespoons of them, chopped, and a pint of boiling water poured over them. Leaves this to steep for about ten minutes and then strain and drink a half a cup at a time. This remedy was traditionally used for kidneys and as a laxative– (so be warned!) You may want to flavour it with a little honey.

 

  • Nicholas Culpeper writing in the 17th century species said that the red dead nettle was especially good for women with menstrual problems.

 

  • The flavonoids quercetin and the vitamin C contained in the herb also mean that it boosts the immune system and helps fight infection. 

Convinced?! 


 

 

Now here is my yummy soup!

Clover, Dandelion and Purple Dead Nettle

green soup

Ingredients

  • 1 handful wild, fresh clover
  • 1 handful wild, fresh dandelions
  • 1 handful wild, fresh purple dead nettle
  • 1 tsb vegetable stock

Method

  1. Wash all ingredients well under cold water
  2. Bring to the boil with stock for 15 minutes
  3. Blend well (if you have a small blender like myself, do it in batches otherwise it will be stringy)
  4. St this point you could add pearl of barley or anything like that
  5. Serve!

 

See >>here<< for how I used Dandelions!

and >>here<< for my nettle soup!

Leave a comment