Mince Pies (Stars)

It is coming up to December and the festive season, so it is time that I start perfecting my mince pies! Hence why there is (stars) in brackets, it will not be my only post about mince pies I’m sure! You are all in for witnessing my Christmas prep in the coming weeks!

Mince pies 1

I didn’t used to like mince pies, I’m still not a massive fan of them unless I bake them myself, without suet! There’s just something in pre-made mince meat that I don’t like. Therefore everything in my pies are from scratch, including the cases!

Ingredients

Shortcrust Pastry

  • 225g cold butter, diced
  • 350g plain flour
  • 100g golden caster sugar

Mincemeat

  • 1 Apple Cored and Chopped Small
  • Raisins, Sultanas, Currents, Mixed Peal Finely Chopped
  • Soft Brown Sugar
  • Zest and Juice of an Orange and Lemon
  • Mixed Ground Spice
  • Ground Cinnamon
  • Brandy

Method

  1. Add all the ingredients of the Mincemeat together in a saucepan and heat on low when cooked this can be canned and used for up to a month in a steralised jar.
  2. To make the pastry, rub cold, diced butter into the plain flour, then mix in the golden caster sugar and a pinch of salt. Combine the pastry into a ball – don’t add liquid – and knead it briefly. The dough will be fairly firm, like shortbread dough. You can use the dough immediately, or chill for later.
  3. Preheat the oven to 200C/gas 6/fan 180C. Line 18 holes of two 12-hole patty tins, by pressing small walnut-sized balls of pastry into each hole. Spoon 280g mincemeat into the pies.
  4. You can be as creative as you like with the top, from a plain flat top to cut out stars like mine. Christmas trees and big stars are also very good, you can use cookie cutters for them.
  5. Bake for 20 minutes until golden. Leave to cool in the tin for 5 minutes, then remove to a wire rack. To serve, lightly dust with icing sugar. They will keep for 3 to 4 days in an airtight container.

2 thoughts on “Mince Pies (Stars)

  1. Pingback: Perfect Mince Pies. | sophiesmarvellousmakings
  2. Pingback: Mincepie PIE | sophiesmarvellousmakings

Leave a comment