Cottage Pie and Scones

PA230003-002

So this is my first post since arriving at Germany! I have chosen and classic English meal, as I am feeling a little homesick.

I always practice recipes over and over again to try to perfect them. However, I feel this couldn’t have been any better. It was truly the best Cottage Pie that I have ever had.

The Filling: Mince beef (however beef mixed with pork is a lot cheaper here!) sauteed with red onions, peas and carrots, then added beef stock, tomato pasata and a splash of Worcester Sauce.

The topping: Mashed potato seasoned to taste with salt, pepper and butter.

Served with: Peas and Carrots

 

 

Oh so Lovely Sc(oh)nes

 

scones!

bbcgoodfood.com

If anything could top off the last meal, it would be a good old scone.

I used the BBC Good Food recipe (link at the end) as I have made them before and they were fantastic, I served them with some raspberry jam. I also forgot to take a picture of the scones before I ate them! Shocker, but I will never make that mistake again!

 

http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/4622/classic-scones-with-jam-and-clotted-cream

Leave a comment